Friday, January 13, 2023

Initial Mass "Alluvium"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Progressive Hard Rock/Metal
Label: Luminol Records
Format: digital
Release date: January 13, 2023
1. Hadean's Fall (6:04) 
2. Trails Behind (2:42) 
3. Out Of The Mold (3:12) 
4. Horizon (3:54) 
5. Wake (6:27) 
6. Calm Wind (3:30) 
7. Believers (3:33) 
8. Memory Fade (4:02) 
9. Drifting (4:26) 
10. The Calling (3:54) 
11. A Crow In The Dark (5:26) 
12. Vacant Throne (5:07) 
13. In Stone Liz Granite (7:28) 

Total Time 59:45

Mark Baldwin: vocals, guitar 
Kevin Robertson: drums
Scott Smith: bass
Liz Granite: vocals (2, 5, 13)

Produced by Initial Mass and Ron Sandoval 
Recorded and mixed by Ron Sandoval at Rev Studios
Mastering by Andrew Alekel

Los Angeles-based heavy prog rock trio Initial Mass release their new album Alluvium with the Italian post-progressive label Luminol Records. 
The band’s fourth LP consists of 13 songs that explore strikingly diverse sonic territories across an evolving conceptual soundscape. Simply put, this is Initial Mass doing what they do best. The follow-up to 2019’s anthemic alt-rocker, Bending Light, manifests as some of the most intricate, calculated and cohesive compositions from the group thus far. 
Alluvium is a concept album, portraying the life of one individual as a metaphor for the rise and fall of humankind. The main character starts his journey, young and ambitious, excited for his chance to make his mark. Quickly, he becomes more intent on his desire to take what he wants from the world. As he grows more powerful, he refutes the warnings of nature’s conscience. Leaving a trail of destruction in his wake, he finds himself isolated in world that can no longer sustain life.


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment