Tuesday, July 9, 2019

Signs of Reign "Awaken from Disguise"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Power Metal
Release date: July 9, 2019
1. Purge (5:44)
2. Fear Awaits (5:29)
3. Jester (5:41)
4. Let It Reign (4:49)
5. When Fire Breathes (5:55)
6. Prelude To The Underground (2:51)
7. Tethered (5:52)
8. Journey's End (5:03)
9. Dream State (6:41)
10. The Dying (7:53)

Total Time 55:58

Matt Johnson - Guitars, Bass
Kevin Sundberg - Drums
Denny Anthony - Lead Vocals
Haanz – Lead Guitar (2, 3, 5, 8)
John Poggione – Lead Guitar (4, 9, 10)
Jaime Mendiola – Lead Guitar (1, 7)

I would consider the “Awaken from Disguise” to be in an even darker mood compared with the debut. The songs are painted in darker colors, they sound even deeper, and are waiting for the listener to dive into them.
The band actually uses a “narrative” form to develop their song’s structure, meaning that the songs are getting expanded minute by minute, leaving you on a story – hearing mood. Yes and this works musically as well, not just by vocals and lyrics. How? Well it is the use of different tempos, extensive bridges, emphatic guitar parts and of course the presence of great vocal arrangements. These are the top features that complete the final “narrative” result of this album.
Read the full review by Chris Papadakis at forgotten-scroll.net



No comments :

Post a Comment