Saturday, April 7, 2018

Delusion Squared "Anthropocene"

Country: France
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Format: CD, digital
Release date: April 7, 2018
1. Devolution (7:15)
2. An Ominous Way Down (7:23)
3. Necessary Evil (5:24)
4. Walls And Protection (4:30)
5. To This Day (5:56)
6. Under Control (5:15)
7. Heirs Of Time (5:30)
8. The Promised Land (6:21)
9. Original Sin (5:48)
10. The Great Leap (5:30)
11. Prayer (6:19)

Total Time 65:11

Emmanuel de Saint Méen: bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Steven Francis: lead vocals, guitars, drums
Emilie De Neef: flute & backing vocals
Robert McClung: additional vocals

Actually our planet has always been a finite resource, but nowadays awareness of how much we're abusing it is on the rise... In this album we wanted to explore alternative ways for humanity to pursue its journey through time. Maybe a global authoritarian government will enforce biosphere preservation (Necessary evil). Maybe the wealthiest will build their private paradises (Walls and protection). What if overpopulation is dealt with in the way of Soylent Green (To this day)... Or what will happen if geo-engineering megaprojects are attempted (Under control)? Some speak about tweaking our own genes to adapt to a hotter climate (Heirs of time) while others dream of sending humanity to the stars by way of intergenerational spaceships (The promised land). But maybe, in the long run, humanity will be superceded by mechanical beings (Original sin) or just eventually go extinct (The great leap)... Whatever awaits us, a prayer can do no harm...

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment